National Park

What is a National Park? 

A National Park is a very large piece of land that is protected for the purpose of natural heritage and conservation of native species. This type of landscape is often natural, semi-natural or developed land that the state owns, hence why it is called a ‘national‘ park.

A National Park is protected by the state and relevant legislation by the EU to ensure correct management and conservation activities are carried out to protect the native species and to manage the natural environment of the area.

Ireland’s National Parks:

There are six designated National Parks on the island of Ireland. These include:

  1. Wicklow Mountains National Park, Co. Wicklow
  2. The Burren National Park, Co. Clare
  3. Killarney National Park, Co. Kerry
  4. Glenveagh National Park, Co. Donegal
  5. Connemara National Park, Co. Galway
  6. Ballycroy National Park, Co. Mayo]


Relevant Links: 


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s